Click HERE for the membership form.

TILE-SIG Committee Members

Chair: Denise Johnson, College of William & Mary, cdjohn@wm.edu
Asst. Chair: Julie B. Wise, University of Deleware, juliebwise@comcast.net
Membership Chair: Paula Saine, Miami University, sainep@miamioh.edu
Newsletter Editor: Mike Putman, University of North Carolina, Charlotte, Michael.Putman@uncc.edu
Julie Coiro, University of Rhode Island, jcoiro@mail.uri.edu
Elizabeth Dobler, Emporia State University, edobler@emporia.edu
Deborah Kozdras, University of South Florida, kozdras@tempest.coedu.usf.edu
Janice Freisen, Barton Creek Elementary School, janice@jfriesen.net
Jill Castek, University of California - Berkeley, jill.castek@sbcglobal.net

Membership FAQ's


What is the TILE SIG?
The Technology in Literacy Education SIG is a special interest group of the International Reading Association (IRA). The purpose of the group is to bring together members of IRA who are interested in literacy and technology.

How Do I Become a Member of the TILE SIG?
Anyone who is a member of IRA can join the TILE SIG simply by sending the following information to Dr. Paula Saine, our membership chair at sainep@miamioh.edu: your name, mailing address, email address, IRA membership number and expiration date. You will also need to include a check for $10 made out to TILE-SIG for membership dues. You can mail your check to this address:
Dr. Paula Saine, Miami University, Dept. of Teacher Education
401C McGuffey Hall, Oxford, OH 45056
Click HERE for the membership form.

What Does the TILE SIG Do?
Each year at the IRA Conference, the TILE SIG hosts an annual meeting and presentation session. The length of this session varies from 1 ½ hours to 3 hours, depending on the number of members we have in the SIG. Various members share information and teaching ideas in the areas of literacy and technology. Also a TILE SIG business meeting is held at IRA. All members, or those interested in joining, are welcome to attend the business meeting. Dates and times for both of these sessions can be found in the IRA program. Currently, we are also seeking to share information and bring together those interested in literacy and technology through the creation of a newsletter, blog, and wiki resource.

How Many People are TILE SIG Members?
Currently, we have 200 members. The number of members we have is important, because the amount of time the TILE SIG receives on the IRA Conference program is based on the previous year’s membership totals. Our goal is to maintain over 100 members so that we can keep a longer time slot at each annual conference. Each spring, membership must be renewed and IRA membership numbers and expiration dates must be verified.